Several years ago a friend shared JK Rowling’s story with me — how she was a broke unemployed single mother suffering under a load of debt and look where she is now. Obviously I do not know what the future holds for me. I’m going after my dreams with a vengeance while recovering from years of mistreatment. I make progress and then fall back but what’s most important is that I keep getting up and moving forward. Eventually I’ll get there. Just as in tae kwon do, I failed and failed and failed when trying to kick a board in half with my foot. I couldn’t understand what I was doing wrong, couldn’t figure out how to do it right and was angry at myself, embarrassed and frustrated, but then somehow I just let the energy and focus flow through me and it happened. I kicked that thick board in half with my foot. I laughed with happiness and triumph and then again I was able to break another board with a kick just as easily. So eventually that’s how what I’m working on will happen. But for now I just have to keep pushing through the frustration.

I love reading J.K. Rowling’s Harvard Commencement speech on the Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination. Having graduated from two ivy league colleges I connect with what she had to say.

This is my first real blog. I decided to write it for myself since I (ghost) write blogs for others (Ooooo). Not sure how this will develop. Toying with putting my inchoate story ideas into words. And just having fun.

